Writing About Brimstone Butterflies But Showing Forsythia (Well They Are Both Yellow!)

I was walking the dog along a sheltered path by the railway line on Sunday and saw quite  a few Brimstone butterflies.  I think this means Spring has finally arrived folks!  Having said that in a normal year you can often see an occasional Brimstone on the wing in late February or early March in Southern England – however this is not a normal year and the sight of so many on the wing cheered me up no end.  Typically I never had my smartphone with me – although I didn’t really feel energetic enough to run after them for a good shot anyway!  They appeared to be all males: the males have yellow wings, hence the name, while the females are off white.  It is believed, realistically I think, that the word butterfly is derived from the males of this species

Our Forsythia bush began to open its buds over a week ago and I notice plants all over town are well out now.  Although it is depressing in a way I quite like it when the flowers begin to fade as by then the leaves are showing and the combination of pale green and warm yellow is very attractive.

Forsythia on a bank

Forsythia on a bank

Incidentally, my wife’s front border which I photographed  a bit earlier is looking even prettier now after the rain at the weekend.  However in our large garden at the back of the house the weeds are growing alarmingly fast for the same reason.  I am not sure when I will get round to attending to them as I have to clean out the fish pond over the weekend and I really must start potting.  The turtles do eat the dandelions but unfortunately not in suitable quantities!  The rabbit only eats the flowers – we have the fussiest rabbit on the planet!

Leave a Reply

