Things That Need Improving – Number One: The Lawn

Our neighbour kindly gave us the turves for the lawn last summer – their source best not mentioned,  I am not sure what type of grass is included but the resulting lawn in very patchy (the same could be said for the top of my head but we wont mention that either!).

The lawn is somewhat raised as it is on soil (top soil and subsoil) that I removed when I extended the fish pond.  Although I made strenuous efforts to trample it down it has still sunk in places and the dreaded bindweed is coming through in places too – in spite of what other gardeners say I don’t think you cam completely remove it; certainly not in deep soil like ours (24+ inches in places).

I put Growmore down before I laid the turf but I haven’t fed it since, so that is another job to do.

Leave a Reply

